Will this build work? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All my name is Ryan and I just joined up after reading this great forum.

I want to build this home server, which I am sure you have all seen, it will have two 750GB drives in it.

http://www.homeserverhacks.com/2008/07/379-windows-home-server.html

Also, I want to build it with this PCI card installed.

http://www.addonics.com/products/host_controller/adsa3gpx8-4e.asp

This will allow me to build by own DAS 8TB storage device (or use something like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817332017) to attach. I want this thing to handle at least 12TB maybe more.

Any thoughts on what I will need to defenitely make this happen? I will be mostly streaming music and video to only 1 PC and an extender.  I am a newbie when it comes to servers but I have built PCs and if this is a totally ridiculous concept then please bare with me. Also, the reason I want a small form factor server with a large DAS attached is because of noise and heat I dont want to shove everything in one huge case.

Any help would be great! Thanks all!
    Tuesday, August 12, 2008 3:30 PM

Answers

• IMO, you would be better off with more internal drive bays, fewer external bays, and a larger case with better cooling. You'll probably find that quieter than the equivalent in external multibay drive enclosures, which are often very loud. Cooling many TB of drives isn't going to be silent no matter what reasonable steps you take to reduce noise, however.

Other than that, if the HBA you've linked has appropriate drivers available, I don't see a real problem with the idea.
    Tuesday, August 12, 2008 4:24 PM

All replies