none
The next steps for a graduate RRS feed

• Question

• Hi guys,

This past May, I completed my undergraduate Batchelor of Science Computing degree. The three years of study were primarily focussed on VB.NET for programming modules. Now completed, I was very fortunate to have been offered a job as a Software Developer for a highly repute company in my hometown. I have been working here now for almost three months. Given my motivation to use what I have learnt in university to the company's advantage, I suddenly feel rather stuck and under-achieving. I have been given two existing VB (and ASP) projects to modify and distribute. To this day, I'm stuck on both and cannot get them completed. The primary reason for this is the complexity of the code given. The complexity of the code programmed by far more experienced ex-employees has overwhelmed me at some points. At most days, I feel incompetent at meeting objectives and delivering the programs. The real world of software development and its advanced features has partially dropped my morale as I feel I have learnt nothing at all at university. I am still very keen to learn and to make a difference for the company though and I want to fight to make myself valued here and not lose my job in the long term. I'd appreciate advice from developers who may have gone through this period during their post-study career. Are there any exact steps I should take such as attempt the Microsoft certifications to gain more advanced understandings of VB and how I can tackle them?

Many thanks for your time!

Jared.   

Tuesday, October 30, 2012 9:18 AM

Answers

• Generally speaking, certifications exist to test a candidate’s ability in a technology, not to teach them a technology (hence the reason why most need 2-3yrs of experience to pass).  That said, studying for a certification is a great way to learn :-)