none
Submit tasks to be executed in a specific order RRS feed

• Question

• Hello experts,

I am new in HPC and in parallel programming and this is the chalenge i am facing.

I have a sequential code in VB6 (i am old fashioned guy) which includes varius tasks. We would like to see how we can take advantage of HPC and reduce the processing time. At the present time we have a small HPC cluster with one Head node and one Compute node. Each one has 4 cores. Head node is also used as compute node.
    My thought is this: I can split the initial code and build 14 different exe (end to end scenario each one). In order to have the same results with my sequential version these exes should run in this way (c stand for core, t for task):
    c1   c2   c3   c4   c5   c6
    t1   t2
    t3         t4    t5   t6
    t7         t8    t9   t10 t11
    t12       t13
    tj14

By describing the above: t1 and t2 can start run at the same time. When t1 in finished, t3, t4, t5 and t6 start to run at the same time. When the above are finished, t7, t8, t9, t10 and t11 start to run at the same time. When the above are finished, t12 and t13 start to run at the same time. When t12, t13 AND t2 are finished then t14 run. (c1 c2 etc are indicative. each task can be assigned to the first free core).

Is this possible to be done through HPC or my whole conceptual approach is in wrong way? I know that a lot of other ways can be more efficient by applying parallel processing and of course translation in other language but at the present time i would prefer something "easy". Another way would be parametric sweep task but let forget it at the moment and focus on this.

Thank you in advance

Cheers

Chris