Newb thought - I was hoping for more..... RRS feed

• Question

• I have had my MS home server installed for about two weeks now and it seems to be working perfectly....does it's backups and stores files as expected. I'm new to this server thing but I guess that I expected a little more. It seems like a waste to have this thing running 24/7 just for backups and storage. I know that I am going to get ripped really bad for this but why can't a home server do more? I'd like to see it:

1. Allow me to install a music player so that I can at least play some music on it.

2. Wouldn't it be great if you could install something like BeyondTv (needs to run 24/7 anyway for recording) on the server?

I guess that what I'm saying is that this would be an outstanding product as a media center/server type OS if this would be possible. Probably security/stability concerns would prevent this combination but after all this is a HOME server we're talking about and not a dumbed down business server. Just a thought...... Sorry if I offended anyone.

Leon

Saturday, December 1, 2007 11:45 PM

Answers

• Iger,

You are not alone. There is room in this world for a product that provides all that you want, and more (e.g. home automation, centralization of all media, router and access point functionality, UMA/cellular support, whatever) right out of the box. WHS is not that product, and was not designed to be, at least not in this initial release.

The various add-ons and hacks that are available are useful and great fun for people like us who enjoy messing around with systems, but they are not a good idea for the intended user of WHS, who is presumed to lack both the skills and the interest to make them work.