none
Debugging multiple programs simultaneously

Question

• Good afternoon Gurus.

I'm having a problem debugging a problem involving the interface between two programs, 'A' and 'B'.    I knew how to do this several years ago, but I've apparently forgotten the technique.  I'm hoping one of you can refresh my memory.

But first, a bit of background … program 'A' is a large, fairly complex program dealing with data acquisition and analysis.    During the course of that analysis, program 'A' may call upon program 'B' for additional information ...
    (e.g. Process.Start(pathToExecutable, argument).

Program 'B' is expected to examine the argument and return the appropriate information.

Program 'B' normally works just fine, and I've been using it for several months without grief. BUT, there's a LOT of initialization which must occur before it can turn a response. It can take ten or fifteen seconds before it returns a response. That seems FOREVER to the average user, so I've tried to break it up into three operational modes:

'StandAlone' in which the Program 'B' is running by itself, accepting input from a user Form, rather than an argument.

'Initialization' in which I'm attempting to do Program 'B's initialization during the period when Program A is initializing,

'Consultative', in which Program 'A' is providing an argument defining the item for which additional information is requested.

The problem is that somewhere along the line, Program 'B' is apparently NOT initialized properly.  If I can get the debugger(s) working together I can see both sides of the problem and fix it quickly.

Now, I do recall from several years ago that it required two instances of the VS debugger. One 'attached' to a process (in this case, 'B') that is already running. And the other debugger is running the other App (in this case, 'A').

Is that still do-able in VS2017 (last time I used this technique was with Win7 and VS2010).

thanks for your help with this.