none
Backup problem Unable to create disk snapshot try running chkdsk /f/r RRS feed

• Question

• The computer failed to take a snapshot of the volume for backup. To resolve this problem try running chkdsk /f/r.

I ran chkdsk /f /r several times with no errors and to no avail. I reinstalled the connector software, rebooted the server, nothing worked.

By the way I have had no problems with the laptop drive I’m a developer and use it every day developing medical imaging software.  The drive is a 52gb drive with 20gb of free space.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated

Monday, March 17, 2008 1:30 AM

Answers

• Probably you have a problem with the Volume Shadow Copy service. Please check if the service is installed and set to manual or automatic in services.msc

If  the service is installed but for some reason not working properly you could try: (copied from http://blogs.technet.com/sdoakes/archive/2006/02/03/418722.aspx).

in command shell do:

Code Snippet

Cd windows\system32

Net stop vss

Net stop swprv

regsvr32 ole32.dll

regsvr32 vss_ps.dll

Vssvc /Register

regsvr32 /i swprv.dll

regsvr32 /i eventcls.dll

regsvr32 es.dll

regsvr32 stdprov.dll

regsvr32 vssui.dll                           ##Possibly only applicable for Windows 2003##

regsvr32 msxml.dll

regsvr32 msxml3.dll

regsvr32 msxml4.dll

the last 3 depend on what XML versions you have installed.

if you get error here, re-install corresponding XML version

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/324460

If some of the other required files are missing or corrupt you can COPY them from C:\WINDOWS\system32\dllcache

It's also possible that some other backup software which has replaced the ms shadow copy provider, or stops it from working properly (for example Acronis True Image). If you have such software installed I think you can best contact the provider.

Also the thread Re: Unable to create volume snapshot  may contain some relevant info for you.

Monday, March 17, 2008 1:05 PM

All replies