none
Completely new to HPC, looking for guidance.

Pertanyaan

• Hi to everyone.  I'm brand new to HPC and looking to be pointed in the right direction.  My need for HPC is a relatively simple one.  I need to render thousands of large high resolution images.  I have the software to do this but the process is time consuming.  HPC sounds, on the surface like a possible solution for me.

Because of my technical comfort level, I would ideally like a Windows 7 based HPC cluster.  Is this a good choice?  My software only runs in the Windows environment.

If my preliminary understanding is correct, any software can run in an HPC environment and benefit from the combined processing power of the cluster.  My graphics rendering software does not rely on processing from a graphics card, only the system processor, again HPC sounds perfect.  My current task of rendering images is taking approximately 15-20 minutes per image.  I'm looking to reduce this to around 1 minute per image.  I'm assuming this would be a function of how many machines I place in the cluster.

These are my starting questions.  Any comments or help will be greatly appreciated.  I am under significant time constraints and the HPC approach could be an almost immediate answer for me.

J.Ribeiro

27 Oktober 2014 13:56

Semua Balasan

• Hello J.Ribeiro,

HPC is the right solution here.

Several questions regarding your requirement:

1. Can you application only run in windows 7? Or any other windows servers like windows 2012, windows 2012 r2?

2. How soon you can get the result is based on how many nodes in your cluster and how you split the computation to smaller parts.

3. Do you have a cluster of computers already or not? If not, or the cluster of computers you have is not enough, you can burst your workload on to azure, and destroy the azure allocation once the tasks done. HPC can provide you a very smooth experience for this.